Information on:

Mount Holyoke College Art Museum

Mount Holyoke College Art Museum
Lower Lake Road
413-538-2245

Vision:

The Mount Holyoke College Art Museum aims to spark intellectual curiosity and ignite a lasting passion for learning and creativity through direct engagement with its rich collections of art and material culture.

Mission:

In support of this vision, MHCAM:

  • serves as a nexus for experiential learning across academic disciplines and as a resource for the broader community
  • stewards an expanding collection of world art and material culture
  • fosters innovative object-based teaching
  • provides an environment for academic experimentation and collaboration
  • generates interdisciplinary projects/investigations resulting in thought-provoking exhibitions, publications, and programs (display, interpretation, and creative response) 

About Us

Founded in 1876, the Mount Holyoke College Art Museum was one of the first collegiate museums in the United States—and today is one of the liveliest! It’s a “cultural laboratory” for the campus and is actively used in teaching by faculty and students studying art, history, chemistry, French, anthropology, philosophy, religion, and numerous other disciplines.

Albert Bierstadt’s majestic painting, Hetch Hetchy Canyon, was the first gift to the Museum at its founding. Since then the Museum has acquired more than 16,000 objects—ranging from ancient Egypt, China, and Peru to contemporary America. Collection objects are displayed on a rotating basis, allowing students to have access to original works of art of the highest quality. An illustrated online database also allows reference to the permanent collection which is constantly growing through purchases and gifts.



Mount Holyoke College Art Museum is not affiliated with AmericanTowns Media

Upcoming Events at Mount Holyoke College Art Museum

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Dec 11, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, Dec 12, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, Dec 19, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Dec 25, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, Dec 26, 2019 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Jan 1, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Jan 8, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Jan 15, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, Jan 16, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Jan 22, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, Jan 23, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, Jan 30, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Feb 5, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, Feb 13, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Feb 19, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, Feb 20, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Feb 26, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, Feb 27, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Mar 4, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, Mar 12, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, Mar 19, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Mar 25, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, Mar 26, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Apr 1, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Apr 8, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Apr 15, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, Apr 16, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, Apr 23, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, Apr 30, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, May 6, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, May 13, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, May 14, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, May 20, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, May 21, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, May 27, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, May 28, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Jun 3, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Jun 10, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, Jun 11, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Wednesday, Jun 17, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Exhibition - Katrien Vermeire: Der Kreislauf (A Handful)

Thursday, Jun 18, 2020 from 11:00am to 5:00pm
South Hadley, MA
Read More »

Photos