Established in 1963, the Chatham Historical Society is a nonprofit organization with the purpose of bringing together people interested in the history of East Hampton, Cobalt, and Middle Haddam. The society operates a museum and schoolhouse to help visitors take a step back in time.
The 1840 Schoolhouse
The one room schoolhouse was moved from Old Chestnut Hill Road and is now on Bevin Boulevard. This schoolhouse and museum property was donated to the Society by Lorraine and Chauncey Bevin.
Highlights of the displays at the museum include:
* The history of bell making in East Hampton;
* A part of the original village center post office circa 1820;
* Photographs and memorabilia of East Hampton; plus much more.